The blog for Underfoot.

Here we go.

Hello and thank you for stopping by the activity blog for Underfoot– an outdoor education initiative in Syracuse, NY. My name is Jared Skye and I’ll be using this blog to maintain updates on what Underfoot is currently up to and what’s on the horizon.

For anyone that doesn’t know what Underfoot is, or who I am, I’ll use this post to give a little background.

Underfoot specializes in providing instruction on outdoor skills, traditional ecology, and wilderness survival.

I’m Jared. I created Underfoot to combine my background as a field biologist with my experiences in the wilderness; using them as a means to help others develop the practical, scientific, and historical perspective necessary to get the most out of their outdoor adventures. As a biologist I have worked on biodiversity studies in the United States, and have most recently planned and implemented research in the remote cloud forests of central Mexico with another biologist. I’ve been involved in the outdoors my entire life, having backpacked throughout the eastern United States, studied traditional ecology/survival skills under a Mexican native family, and spent years practicing bushcraft skills in the NE, SE, and NW United States. As I write this, I am spending the winter alone in a cabin on Kodiak Island off the southern coast of Alaska for the second time. By the end of this winter I will have spent over a year completely alone in remote Alaskan wilderness, practicing and testing my bushcraft skills against the background of this harsh environment.

In creating Underfoot, my goal is simple: engendering positive conservation values by helping people get the most out of their own outdoor adventures. It’s my firm belief that the most passionate and realistic supporters of conservation are those with active personal ties, and exciting memories of time spent in, their local wild spaces.

Please stop back again the future and see what we have going on.

Leave a Reply

